Mars now using animal rennet
It’s not a rumour this time - I’m well aware how annoying these food rumours are which do the rounds on mailing lists and forums from time to time, but …
It has been announced that the company behind the Mars bar are to start using animal rennet in their confectionery, including Mars itself, Twix, Milky Way, Snickers and Bounty. Some scholars, particularly Hanafis, say this means the bars are still halaal. Others, particularly those outside the Hanafi school, say that rennet must come from an Islamically slaughtered animal to be halaal.
However, since they no longer qualify as suitable for vegetarians, it also leaves open the possibility that the company may move on to using other animal-derived ingredients, such as meat-derived fats. The reader might make up his or her own mind.
Possibly Related Posts:
- Not a religion of platitudes
- Hamza Yusuf was not famous just for being White
- How does any society build civil society?
- We can’t blame ‘Wahhabis’ for everything
- Don’t call us haters